Register Now Already Registered?

You must have Javascript and Cookies enabled to access this webcast.

Online Symposium Summary

This free to attend online symposium will highlight some of the most exciting research being conducted into the most common cause of dementia, Alzheimer’s Disease.

Accessed via mobile, tablet or PC, this event will feature the advances that have shaped our understanding of the disease and paved the road towards therapeutic strategies for treatment.

To combat and ultimately cure Alzheimer’s, a collaborative effort from across science will be required. We have reflected this in the background of our speakers, who represent cutting edge bench side research, top-level decision making and leading charities that work with patients. If you want to know what the future of Alzheimer’s research looks like, you won’t want to miss this symposium.

Attend this Online Symposium to:

  • Learn about the latest findings in Alzheimer’s Research
  • Understand how we are combating Alzheimer’s from policy to pipette
  • Discuss Alzheimer’s with research leaders in our Q&A sessions
 

Keynote Speaker:

michelle bradac.png
Prof John Hardy
UCL Department of Neurodegenerative Diseases and Queen Square Institute of Neurology



 
 

Speakers:

Eliezer
Eliezer Masliah
Director, Division of Neuroscience
National Institute on Aging, National Institute of Health
Henry
Henry Brodaty
DScientia Professor of Ageing and Mental Health Montefiore Chair of Healthy Brain Ageing
Director, Dementia Centre for Research Collaboration
Co-Director, CHeBA (Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing)
Henry
Dr Carol Routledge
Director of Research
Alzheimer’s Research UK
Giovanna Mallucci
Giovanna Mallucci
Associate Director UK Dementia Research Institute at the University of Cambridge
van Geest Professor of Clinical Neurosciences
Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Addenbrooke’s Hospital
University of Cambridge
Michal Schwartz
Michal Schwartz
Professor of Neuroimmunology
The Maurice and Ilse Katz Professorial Chair in Neuroimmunology
Weizmann Institute of Science
 

Early Career Speakers:

Jennifer Evans
Dr. Marco Brancaccio
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
Jennifer Evans
Dr. Aarti Jagannath
Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute, Oxford, UK
 
 
 

Agenda

May 29, 2019

1320 BST

1420 CEST

0820 EDT

Introduction

Ruairi Mackenzie, Chair

1330 BST

1430 CEST

0830 EDT

Insights from the genomic analysis of AD and other neurodegenerative diseases

Prof John Hardy  

1425 BST

1525 CEST

0925 EDT

Break




1430 BST

1530 CEST

0930 EDT

Is prevention of dementia possible?

Prof Henry Brodaty  

1520 BST

1620 CEST

1020 EDT

Break




1525 BST

1625 CEST

1025 EDT

The latest developments in Alzheimer’s research

Dr Carol Routledge  

1615 BST

1715 CEST

1115 EDT

Break




1625 BST

1725 CEST

1125 EDT

Immune checkpoint blockade to harness the power of the immune system to combat Alzheimer’s disease: Prospect of Immunotherapy.

Prof Michal Schwartz  

1715 BST

1815 CEST

1215 EDT

Break




1720 BST

1820 CEST

1220 EDT

The road to new dementia treatments

Prof Giovanna Mallucci  

1810 BST

1910 CEST

1310 EDT

Break




1815 BST

1915 CEST

1315 EDT

US National Plan to Address AD

Dr Eliezer Masliah  

1905 BST

2005 CEST

1405 EDT

Closed

Ruairi Mackenzie, Chair